WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Elegant symmetry

Oxford was looking gorgeous in the sunshine today. In the ten years I worked in Oxford, I had never visited the Natural History Museum, so today I set out to rectify that. The roof has recently been entirely cleaned; what a jaw-droppingly magnificent structure it is. And what a contrast this light, bright space now is with the artefact-crammed gloom of the Pitt-Rivers collection (no photos of this for the moment, I will wait till I get home to process them). I spent a couple of hours wandering round both before retiring for coffee and a croissant. Then I took a very slow amble back to Bundle's, stopping for many photo opportunities on the way, plus a spell lounging on the grass in Christchurch Meadow reading and watching passing boats. Such a lovely day.

And, in the evening, a blipmeet with Bundle and Chamaeleo -- sadly missing Arachne as she has swapped places with me and is now in France. We dawdled over an Italian meal with much interesting chat, including about Chamaeleo's fascinating bird study project. If you are hoping for a photo of this blipmeet, you are likely to be disappointed; Chamaeleo and I didn't even get our cameras out of our bags, and Bundle's photo didn't have any people in it.

If you want to overdose on more photos of the NHM, there's a Flickr album, which will have some more varied photos added once I have processed the remaining 60 or so photos I took today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.