TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Galah

The Galah, or rose breasted cockatoo, is endemic to mainland Australia and was introduced to Tasmania. It's pink and grey plumage, bold and loud behaviour make it a familiar sight int he bush and, increasingly in urban areas. The term galah is derived from gilaa, a word found in Yuwaalaraay and neighbouring languages.
This morning, I was sitting in my office and glanced out the window to see three of these on top of a street light.  I picked put the camera and from there just hoped for the best.  This is hand held at a distance of about 50metres, so I just clicked away hoping for something a bit special. Once those wings opened I knew I had a chance.  My extra should have been the better shot, but my subject almost got away.  However, I have posted it because I love the focus on the far wing.  Nature (and a camera) is all revealing, isn't it?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.