knit 1 girl 1

By knit1girl1

I did it!!

This is the Ravellenic shawl that I've been knitting during the Olympics. The Ravellenic games is run through a group on the Ravelry web-site. You can take part by challenging yourself to knit, crochet, spin, weave anything that you feel would be a challenge for yourself. I decided to take part again this year and I really wanted to try and get my project done in time as I've failed in the past. I chose to do the Bigger on the Inside shawl from Knitty. I fell in love with this when I saw it as the Dr Who geek in me had to have it. I then asked my lovely part-time boss Lilith to see if she could come up with a Tardis blue in her sparkly sock yarn, and of course she could.
It's been a pretty straight-forward knit and I've quite enjoyed it, apart from the rib at the end as I just wanted it finished. I've pulled quite a few late nights with this this week and knitted for a good few hours today as well whilst watching the mountain biking (mental fun). It was completed at 6pm this evening and is blocking away nicely in my workroom. I'm so happy I've done it and within the time allowed and it's going to look awesome once it's dried. I can't wait to wear it.
I'm sad that the Olympics is coming to an end as it's been a fantastic couple of weeks and it's great to see so many inspiring athletes compete and do things that are way beyond my capabilities. It has spurred me on to try harder and be more positive in my outlook in life as you can achieve great things when you put your mind to it. It is hard work to do this but the achievements at the end are worth it.
Off to watch the closing ceremony with the boys and maybe do some gentle spinning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.