West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

No sailing

Tilly the tiger didn''t get to take a boat to Japan. But we are in Japan. (Tilly is the tiger who lived on my fridge and I forgot to pack into storage so joined me on my trip.) I've spent most of today sitting around waiting for a flight and this is the only photo I have to blip.

My hydrofoil from Busan to Fukuoka was cancelled this morning because of bad weather. The other hydrofoil company were running so I don't know if that means I booked the safety conscious company or the unreliable one. I used the wifi in the ferry terminal to look for flights to Japan and the cheapest one I could find was to the same city the hydrofoil would have taken me to so I arrived in Fukuoka by plane, 6 hours later than I should have arrived.

I didn't wait in Busan for the next hydrofoil because yesterday I bought a VERY expensive Japan rail pass (but still cheaper than buying individual train tickets) which you can only buy outside Japan. And I booked a (non-refundable) flight to Beijing for the day the rail pass runs out. So if I'd waited who-knows-how-long for the hydrofoil, I'd be missing seeing Japan and wasting my rail pass.

Hopefully I should get a refund from the hydrofoil company. If I don't blip tomorrow, it's because I haven't been able to find an adaptor to fit Japanese electrical sockets and my battery has run out. I had a universal adaptor but I lost it in Mongolia and now only have one to fit round pin sockets which they don't use in Japan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.