After 80 year old Steve cooked us a breakfast of bacon and French Toast, we headed out for my husband's second run of the weekend.  We had to drive almost 45 minutes over dirt roads to get to a part of the C&O canal that is nearly inaccessible.  I dropped him there and made the 45-minute drive back to Little Orleans to wait for him.

 As I wandered around the old aqueduct, I came across this large bush with lots of red berries and many birds.  Much to my delight they were Cedar Waxwings.  I climbed to the top of the aqueduct and was able to sit almost level with the birds in the bush and shoot them in action.  I chose this shot because it really shows the features of the Cedar Waxwing, with its Zorro-like mask, lovely coloring and yellow tipped tail feathers. I have loaded an extra of one with a berry.  

After his 6 mile run, we drove home so I would be in time for the Camera Club competition.  I had a good night and got FIRST and Second place in the Digital division. The theme this month was “other” animals, no mammals or pets, which was really quite up my alley.  

Backblipped 10-26-2016

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.