An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Cinderfella...

The builders were on site today to continue clearing the rubble out of the kitchen and to cut out the new doorway.  The Aga man was also here to move the Aga to its new position.  By 8.30am it was all go.
 
I passed the kitchen at one point and made the mistake of looking in, just in time to see the Aga looking as though it had burst open.  I had no idea it was full of volcanic rock and insulation.  I honestly thought there was no way it would ever resemble an Aga again, but it turns out the Aga man does know what he's doing and it's all been perfectly restored.  

The main two-oven Aga won't be switched on again until the new kitchen is fitted but we can use the attached module (i.e. the gas hob and two electric ovens) so that will make life easier.
 
In other news, it will be David's 50th birthday in December and I have been racking my brain trying to think what to buy him.   
 
The problem is he is perfectly content with what he has and anything I suggest is met with the "but I don't really need that" response that is so typical of him.  Always much happier giving than receiving.  

But I am determined to spoil him this birthday to show how much I love and appreciate him and to thank him for putting up with me for all these years being the most amazing husband to me and dad to Alan.  I really don't know what we would do without him
 
So, whilst it may take me a while to hit upon a main gift, I have decided to focus on smaller gifts, some silly (inflatable zimmer ;-) but mostly little things that on the face of it are nothing really, but will mean so much to him.

A few ideas have popped into my head and I will be pursuing those over the next week or so but one little gift I stumbled upon totally accidentally.  I say accidentally but I actually think a certain loved one who is no longer with us, led me to it.  It is absolutely perfect.

I can't say what it is yet for obvious reasons, but suffice to say I am over the moon with it.  I stumbled upon it online and bought it immediately.  It has come all the way from Venice, Florida although it was made in the UK.  I hope he loves it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.