dreaming

By dreaming

Belated flowers

I was right in the middle of photographing my Flower Friday blip yesterday when the batteries in my camera died.  I had just recently changed them, so it came as a surprise.  Today, since I'd missed FF, I though I would blip a prized possession that has flowers on it. This casserole is a piece of hand-made North Carolina pottery, a gift to myself about 40 years ago when I was in graduate school at Duke University.  I fell in love with it when I saw it, with the lovely colors, shape and design.  I don't use it much - it's too precious.  But I love to look at it.

Today was my second day as a tutor at the library, and once again it was difficult and rewarding.  We had a shortage of tutors today, and a lot more students, so it was rather more chaotic.  I don't know how these newly immigrant people, who lack vocabulary and can't construct a reasonably correct English sentence, manage to navigate the processes of finding housing, applying for jobs, or interviewing for jobs.  I admire their courage - I don't think I could have done this myself when younger.  I'm hoping that we'll have the full complement of tutors next week, so that we can give people more individual attention.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.