ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Texture.

Woke to a fairly misty start today, but Mum and I headed down to the beach anyway and had our breakfast sitting outside at the Sanddollar Cafe as the sun started to burn through the fog. After a wander on the front, searching for the dolphins that seem to go to ground when Mum comes to see me, we walked back to town through the harbour. After 4 years of living in Aberdeen (with a boyfriend who went to Nautical College and has worked offshore, plus my job in the oil and gas industry), I've developed quite a good knowledge of which kinds of boats come into the harbour, and what they are used for. I gave Mum a guided tour which I think she enjoyed, and then we took a wander up to John Lewis to see what goodies they had in their homeware department.

We spent quite a while in the shops, pottering about and looking for bargains; Mum ended up with a lovely linen shirt and I got a mandolin (chopping implement, not a stringed instrument!). Finally, we ended up at the Braided Fig for our lunch, and then home via Food Story for some raspberry and white chocolate cake (yum yum!) which we demolished with a cup of coffee.

In the evening, we watched the Olympic Closing Ceremony which we both really enjoyed (although the 15 minutes of George Michael left a bit to be desired... In fact, I fell asleep for that part), and then off to bed to sleep off all our walking from the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.