Ingenuity

The new waste water treatment works at the old Bulwood Quarry in Dunoon is a model of ingenuity.

I visited when it was being constructed but couldn't go to the formal opening by Alex Neil a couple of months ago.

This afternoon I got a wee tour, however, and was amazed and impressed at the way in which the detailed and demanding engineering processes had been fitted into such a dramatically constrained site with cliffs on one side and the main road ( and sea) on the other.

Moreover it was , in full operation, quiet and odour free. So many congratulations to Scottish Water for such a major achievement both with the plant and the seven miles of connecting work eastwards to Sandbank.

Indeed I am told the only problem so far is that the throughput is not, shall we say, substantial enough as yet.

(Later ; didn't realise until afterwards that this is my 700th entry, and that in four days time I will have done 600 in a row. Seems a lot, but then one chances on others on this site who have done double that or more and it falls into perspective ! I can't really imagine not blipping now, I have to say )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.