Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Not a moment too soon!

I went into Hexham this morning to "run a few errands" - that dates me I think. My specs have been re-adjusted and I think they are now OK. I posted parcels, bought Christmas stamps (for Mum) and then did some food shopping. It all went well.

My car was parked near the Abbey and near to the Sele Park. A gang of gardeners were planting up all the borders ready for the big Remembrance Day parade and service on Saturday. The autumn colours still looked lovely, but the men with the blowers and the ride on mower were gradually clearing the carpet of leaves from the lawns. I was just in time to capture this scene.

A bit too cold for anyone to be sitting on the bench today.

The boiler man came this afternoon. He didn't actually condemn our central heating boiler, but he did say that he can't get any spare parts for it and that it needs replacing.  "It's an easy job". "It will only take a couple of days". There are new radiators to put in too. The estimate is eye wateringly high.

At the Hexham and District Photographic Society tonight, our professional member, Graeme, explained all about stock photography and showed a film of the work he does. It was taken on location in South Africa. Fascinating stuff, although I did feel as though I was looking at page after page from magazines. He had books of older images which showed how the style changes with the times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.