Never Forget

The following poem was given to me many years ago - it was from an Australian Paper of the Royal British Legion)

FLOWERS OF LOVE
Why are they selling poppies Mummy?
Selling poppies in town today
The poppies child, are flowers of love
For the men who marched away

By why have they chosen a poppy, Mummy?
Why not a beautiful rose
Because my child, men fought and died
In the fields where the poppy grows

But why are the poppies red, Mummy?
Red is the colour of blood, my child
The blood our soldiers shed

The heart of the poppy is black, Mummy
Why does it have to be black?
 Black my child is the symbol of grief
For the men who never can back

But why Mummy are you crying so?
Your tears are giving you pain
My tears are my fears, for you my child
"FOR THE WORLD IS FORGETTING AGAIN"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.