Return to the North

By Viking

Way home

Well what an exciting day I've had. I got a phone call at 8.20am this morning asking if I could do a days supply at a school in Brigg. After a little' discussion' about how long it would take me to get there (ie the school wanted me to teleport there so I could be there for 8.21!) I headed out to cover an absent drama teacher.
Was a lovely day with some generally very polite children. I even managed to engage them in discussion about their tasks, although I did thank the Lord I didn't have to make up a lesson because that would have been beyond me!
Anyways.... part way through the last lesson another couple of teachers came into the space. I glanced over and kept glancing back because one of them looked distinctly like an old school friend. Sure enough I went over and she was so surprised we had to have a big hugging session. J was my best friend all the way through secondary school and we kept in touch for many years afterwards. This got more sporadic as lives got in the way but i did make a point of nipping in to see her just before I went to NZ 10 years ago. Today was the first time I had seen her in 10 years.
When I reflect on it - we have known each other 40 years - bloody amazing :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.