Healing

A dull but productive day today.
We started with a walk up on the Scar, with all the snow now gone we were bathed in sunshine but ringed by ominously dark clouds - I think our spell of wonderful weather might be coming to an end.
After a fabbo lunch I settled into the mancave to write the Annual Report for the British Association of International Mountain Leaders ahead of our AGM next weekend. Whilst getting the statutory parts correct is easy I also feel there's an obligation on us as Directors of a members association to make these documents accessible, transparent and informative - hopefully when my work restructuring the governance of the Association is finished it will not look so daunting for future volunteers.

As with any report writing a certain amount of distraction is called for - sadly I had little, but was very pleased to see this chap scamper up to the feeders. I know it's not the best shot, indeed I got much better, but this one shows his right eye and that is something I've been hoping to get a picture of. I'm 90% certain that this is the damaged squirrel we saw 2 weeks ago - and that is very significant. If he had had the pox then he'd be dead now, and the others would be infected. Instead, whilst his eye still seems a little pink and devoid of fur, he seems to be healthy and fine - so hopefully he is recovering from an eye injury or infection and our little colony of reds are safe for now, obviously good news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.