TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Melaleuca lanceolata

It was only a matter of time and I would inevitably be back to my beloved natives.  I started with a wide angled shot of this tree (see extra) but became ever more fascinated by the unusual flower on this very common Melaleuca.  It is a different structure from the usual bottle brush - more spidery somehow. It is a very common street tree in Shepparton and at the whole suburban area seems to be ablaze with them. I always associate these with Christmas because they will flower right through now. I have been looking at those frosty shots from the north. These are such a contrast because they thrive in a very hot climate with little water.
This was taken hand held, in the street, so I am quite pleased with the result.
Both pics look better in large, I think.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.