Selfridges

After nearly 13 years living in the city, I moved away from Birmingham in 1980.  A great deal has changed in the city centre since then, and massive changes continue. 

When I started work in 1971 in a building on the corner of Great Charles Street, the office window overlooked a building site which was the new city Library, then under construction.  That building has now been demolished, and there is a new library just down the road on Centenary Square. Modern buildings seem to be disposable items.

The Bull Ring has been totally  transformed.  This is not the first time I've been to that particular part of the city since 1980, so I had seen the much photographed Selfridges building before, but I still took the opportunity today to photograph it again.  I had an enjoyable day wandering around the city, finding the familiar areas as well as noting the changes.

An enjoyable evening back at our friends' house (with an interlude at their local pub).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.