loisbiz

By loisbiz

Black Necked Stilts

The first day in a Condo is all about getting settled, buying groceries, exploring the area and stopping to get some bird photos!!  I saw a small, very green pond, near the Safeway store and pulled over to see the black and white birds that were on many of the small islands. I looked them up and found out they are Black-Necked Stilts (if you look at the second extra you will see why they are called Stilts) The first extra is a Hawaiian Duck who seems to be on the Endangered Species List; she and her mate were dipping into the water so fast I had trouble getting her above water. You can see the water rushing off her beak. Behind her is one of the Stilts with his tail up. :-)) The third extra is a Pacific Golden Plover; they winter over in Hawaii. I am planning to go to the Wildlife Refuge nearby Sugar Beach tomorrow so I am hopeful to see more different birds. I was shocked to see all of these when we just drove by!!!  :-)) Luck, pure luck.
Hope to get out snorkeling early tomorrow since the trade winds come up in the afternoon. Luckily the time difference is in my favor since I am not an early riser at home, that 2 hours difference will give me an early start!!
Thanks for visiting and joining my adventure on vacation in Hawaii. I am overly excited! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.