Canoe Paddling for Visitors

The Kihei Canoe Club offers visitors on Maui an opportunity to paddle in one of their large outrigger canoes on Tuesday and Thursday mornings. All I had to do was show up before 7 AM and sign up; $30 donations were encouraged. Two experienced paddlers were in each canoe and the three seats in the middle were filled with people with little or no experience. We had a wonderful cultural experience, lesson in Hawaiian History and then instructions about paddling before we were assigned a boat. The thing I was most concerned about was knowing when to jump into the canoe as we pushed it into the water; could I really jump up there and get seated? It didn't help that the first canoe to launch had one lady who did NOT get into it on time and the Instructor went out and boasted her in in a very a funny manner. BUT I made it in just fine. I think I stayed in rhythm  and switched sides to paddle on time. I really enjoyed the 1 hour paddle at a pretty good pace. (We did stop to rest a couple times.)  The views of the sunrise were stunning and the water was calm on the way out, but on the way back the wind came up and it was quite choppy and the front few people got very wet. I was second, so I was one of the wet ones, but it was okay because the temperature was warm. The photo is of one of the other canoes as we turned around to go back to shore.
After returning to the condo for some down time, we went back to the Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge for another stroll on the boardwalk.  It was a wonderful partly sunny afternoon so I got a few more photos of the birds.(see extras)  Then we went to the outdoor market to buy Papaya, avacados, meyer lemons and tangerines. Yummy. We bought Moon Fish at the local fish market which my husband fixed for dinner with rice and a nice salad. That moon fish was the best fish I have ever tasted.....it was sooooo good! I am so lucky to have a man who loves to cook .....even on vacation, he prefers to shop locally and cook dinner every night. I do think we have meals most people would expect to find at fine dining locations.  Yes, I know I am blessed!!!  Life is very Good.

But I am starting to feel a little guilty for leaving home for the month of December. We are missing all the Christmas celebrations, shopping for gifts, decorating the house, parties and baking. But the kids and grandkids are joining us in Hawaii when school is out so we will be together for the holidays......that is why I don't need to shop, the trip here is our Christmas present to each of them. So no guilt, right? 

Sorry this is so long tonight.....I got a little carried away as I typed. Thanks for reading this far.....if you really did! :-)) Also, thanks for the great response to the Turtle Photo yesterday and the Heron Shot the day before. I am smiling thinking that you liked my photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.