Insect on a Rose

I went to the local gardens this morning and while admiring the roses, spotted this tiny insect sitting on a gorgeous, golden, sun-shiny rose.

Once on the computer I could see that, like one I photographed a while ago, it has a single horn in the middle of its forehead. The mouth parts look like it is playing a trumpet. Or perhaps it is a stethoscope and it is listening to the heartbeat of the rose?  Very fanciful,  I know.

The body shape is different to the last one I captured, so there must be a whole order of insects that have a horn like a unicorn. And just look at those enormous eyes.  But, I cant find them in the insect book at all.

So for Flower Friday  I have an unidentified unicorn horned insect , on a stunning rose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.