Any Day Now, Surely?

The rain stopped and the sky brightened so I took my camera out to make the most of it. Enough sunshine penetrated the clouds to make it warm. After taking photos of the poppies I suddenly found myself a couple of feet from this heavily pregnant lizard. She knew I was there, but she didn’t stir, even when I hung the camera over her. She was soaking up the warmth. I took the shot and carefully backed away.

When I turned around something curious happened to my vision. Everything turned pale. It puzzled me a for few seconds before I saw the clouds of steam lifting from the lawn and enveloping me. My own private fog!

The lizard is a New Zealand native common skink. She will give birth to live young. This makes her a viviparous lizard. Thanks to intothehills for that word.

My flower field this morning in extras, along with a white-centred scarlet poppy of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.