The Way I See Things

By JDO

Stereoscope

The New Year has arrived in Worcestershire with a squelch: it's been raining here since last night, and the ground is sodden. There was no chance at all that I was going to leave the house in search of a photo, and as it barely got light all day I thought I might have to get the studio lights out to get any indoor shots. I took this in the conservatory at lunch time, with a high ISO and a slow shutter speed - but luckily my subject kept still.

One of R's Christmas gifts to me was an old book of stereoscopic images of famous landmarks in and around London. I find them very interesting, though I'm not very good at relaxing my eyes to let the 3D image appear, and I thought they might provide an interesting blip. R arrived back in from a soggy run and found me struggling to set up a reasonable composition, and sweetly agreed to model the stereoscope for my photograph.

This led us on to a discussion of Salvador Dalí's stereoscopic paintings - and how and why he might have created them. If this subject intrigues you, there's quite an interesting Wiki about stereoscopy here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.