kerolar

By kerolar

My Childhood Home

This is the house I grew up in. My parents bought it new in 1959 for £1,898.00, they put down a £500 deposit and paid it off by 1973. My dad earned £10 a week and my mum £8 at the time; a lot of money in those days. There was no central heating and double glazing, just one open fire. My my dad sadly passed away a few years ago from dementia. My dad loved the house because it has a big garden at the rear, he used to say "the only way you'll get me out of this house is in a coffin", but sadly he died in a care home.

The mortgage was £9 16 schillings and threepence a month. My mum used to go on the bus to Blackpool to pay the mortgage with £10, and the change of 3 and 6 paid the bus fare.

I had a happy childhood in that house close to the sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.