Kestrel

I was taking photos of the Eagle way up in the fir tree when I saw this little Kestrel on the power line overhead. Usually when I am this close they fly, but this little guy stayed as he kept balanced in the fierce cool wind by tipping back and forth. He was so focused on something on the ground that I was able to take way too many photos of him, about 200!!! 

Please look at the extras today. You can see the wide angle shot of the fir tree that the eagle was sitting on top of.....then the close up of him surveying the area. I think you will find it interesting to see how far away the tree is from my parking place.  There is still no activity at the nest; it looks the same as it did when I left at dark on Saturday night. I wonder if they decided they needed to eat first and then get back to it later. Maybe the cold weather has deterred them? I really don't know.
Thanks for the surprising hearts for my Bufflehead yesterday. I appreciate that you liked it. I rather liked the lack of color and the simplicity too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.