But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Cracker.

It was nearly a month ago that the camera club had its Christmas meal, and very nice it was too. Not one cracker was pulled, not one silly hat worn or joke told until long after the meal was over. But then, several of our number had sampled the assorted whiskies on offer and silliness reigned. Why am I relating this? This little gold foil ribbon was part of one of the crackers and I salvaged some of them; since my throat is delicate and is set on fire by alcoholic spirits, I was still stone-cold sober and so could see their photographic possibilities. It was an interesting project.
 
In another segment of my life today, I was proof reading an essay – my brief was to ensure that Jnr was answering the question posed rather than waffling around the subject. My report back was that he was sailing close to the wind but, what I didn’t say was that I am rather pleased that he is using Game Theory to improve his efforts. The first rule of GT is to study the rules of the game, the second is to ask advice, and so on – it’s the science of the bleedin’ obvious but is ignored by most people.
 
I am reminded of the story I heard about one Oliver Heaviside, joint predictor of one of the atmospheric ozone layers and a physicist on a par with Peter Higgs although it was Edward Appleton who won the Nobel prize for verifying the layer's existence. Allegedly, Heaviside spent ten months studying successful doctoral theses, one month studying his research topic and wrote his successful masterpiece on a single sheet of paper. Unfortunately I have been unable to find any documentation to support the story so must assume that it is just that – a story.

Edit: For some reason best known to itself, Blipfoto has posted this on the 8th when the EXIF data unambiguously says it was taken on the 7th. May be something to do with the Blip site having been AWOL for the greater part of 24 hours. I shall have to pull rank and post the 8th's picture on the 7th.
Second edit: Followed BobsBlips advice which worked, but still no EXIF showing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.