Jado

By Jado

Mam Tor, Derbyshire

Today the weather was really nice, so as soon as the rush hour traffic had died down I was off – to Castleton (Derbyshire).  I know loads of walks in the Peak District but I chose to do the “Castleton, Cave Dale, Mam Tor, the ridge to Lose Hill, down into Hope and then back to Castleton” walk because I bruised my ankle a week or so ago and I was not totally sure how it would stand up to a long hike.  The advantage of the Castleton / Mam Tor “circuit” is that there are loads of places to drop back down into Hope Valley and so cut the walk short.
 
As it turned out my ankle was fine for general walking, uphill or down, but I did feel it when I was climbing over styles.  So I cut out the bit of the walk through Hope and back along the river to Castleton – there are lots of styles on that part of the walk.
 
It was a little bit windy on the tops at times, but it was a fabulous day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.