SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

Graffiti tunnels

There's a small area in our city tucked underneath a 4 lane freeway that is home to graffiti and a few without homes.  I'm not sure who the artists are other than the occasional tag at the bottom of their artwork.  Every once in a while the city tries to clean it up and then the once beautifully colourful walls are painted over with a dull grey and returned to their bland existence.  I hadn't been here in a while and as it was raining and the area covered, I thought I'd go poke around a bit.  New artwork adorned the staid concrete and I felt as an intruder walking amongst stained mattresses, tossed coffee cups and bags and bags of what I perceived as garbage...possibly someone else's treasured finds.  I didn't stay long, as I became aware of occupants a few tunnels away so I respectfully retraced my steps back to my car.  Deep in thought, not being able to unsee, my heart sends a prayer to those cloaked in shadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.