High Tide

6.6C with a bright morning and dull cloudy afternoon. Blustery showers later. E/ESE wind to 32 mph with gusts to 43 mph.

Apothecary7 went back to work. That's depressing. A turn for the worse in the weather after such a lovely day yesterday made me glad I had bought a magazine with a new version of Ubuntu Linux on the coverdisk on Friday in Oban. The disk is bootable and the OS can be tried live without an install  (running in memory rather than from hard drive) so at least I had something interesting to pass the time with this morning. I found it to be fast and easy to use but I am still of a mind to hang onto Windows Vista on my main tower PC since there are a few programs I use (or "Apps" as it has become fashionable to call them now in the world of morons who can't formulate a grammatically correct sentence in English text speak) that don't have exact Linux equivalents. On Windows Vista I have installed non Microsoft security software and dumped the Microsoft one that will no longer be supported after April.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went for a walk after lunch. It had become quite dull and windy. Radio Scotland on the Clip. I should have played music. We went round to the harbour then along past the ferry terminal to the park. There were some fishing boats and some fish farm boats at the old quay. It was high tide. I think this may be the highest I have seen the water in the loch. It looked very full. With the wind in an Easterly direction waves were being driven in from the mouth of the loch and there were a few splashes over the side. From the end of the park we wandered back along the street side then came home through town past the town hall and the bookshop (open).

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for another walk. Radio Scotland on the Clip. I couldn't be bothered changing it but at least the West End Wendys had stopped droning on about regaining motivation to improve fitness in January with their goals, challenges, and things that are 'key'. I intended to go out Low Askomill to the old shipyard. I went as far as the old pier on the Dalintober side just before Low Askomill starts then decided I had been blown around enough for one day. I was lacking motivation. There were still some splashes of spray from the waves rushing into the head of the loch coming over onto the Esplanade half an hour or so after high tide. I got splashed. It was the most fun I had all day.

Afternoon music ... Dr Hook, Bankrupt. The Proclaimers, Sunshine on Leith.

E-PL5 f/5 1/80 sec. ISO-200 28mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.