Flock...

...of ducks. There were hundreds of ducks at the park today, most of them floating about in different groups out on the Lake, no doubt enjoying the sun. Lots of mallards raising up out of the water & flapping their wings, some were nipping at or chasing other mallards, & many of them were diving! After I got home I wondered if there was a specific name for a large group of ducks & was surprised there were so many different words for them! A "flock" refers to flying ducks, while ducks on the water can be referred to as "badelynge"   (ok--who on earth ever heard ducks referred to as "badelynge"!)  "bunch", "brace", "paddling", "raft", "team" or "dover". I'm kind of liking "dover"!  I've put a dover of diving ducks in my daily extra!  :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.