Winter Weather

Okay. I am ready for the snow to go away and the weather to improve. It was fun for awhile and beautiful... but now, not so much.

My friend Helen took me to painting today. There were just four of us there. The others were stuck by icy streets and couldn't make it. It was odd painting with one wonky eye but I managed. And I am a bit rusty too. It's been awhile since I've painted. But it was great to be with my buds and Trish. I signed up for this and next month. I'll get back into the swing of things soon.

Helen and I left early because it began to snow again and it accumulated on the sidewalks very quickly. When we reached the area where we both live the show had turned into sleet and soon freezing rain. Helen dropped me off near the mail boxes and headed back to her house. I left my painting and the cart with my supplies in the back of her car. I didn't want to try pulling the cart through the snow on the road up to my house. I picked up the mail and walked home. It wasn't far and I made it safely without falling on my keester.

The original plan was to pick up Helena and bring her home with me but since we left early, H wasn't home yet. And I was concerned about how she would get back to her apartment. So we postponed our day together until Saturday. She spent some time with Arvin and for the first time he didn't recognize her. How awful for her. And how sad for Arvin. By the end of their visit he had remembered her, but it was really hard on her that it took awhile. He is losing ground fast. This makes me sad and so sorry that I can't care for him at home anymore. Very sad indeed.

Tomorrow I have an eye appointment and hope to be able to visit Arvin some time after it. I did pick up his new glasses today so I can bring them to him as soon as I can get myself over there.

Thank you all for your kind words. It makes me happy to receive your thoughtful kindness as I manage what is going on in Arvin's and my life right now. What a great group of kind and understanding folks you are!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.