Sunrise Morning

It was beautiful this morning so I got dressed and took a walk in the park. I thought I'd see wildlife because it was just before dawn. Good luck with that! But never mind because I had already gotten a beautiful shot of the sunrise light above Lake Whatcom.

It promised to be a good day. I spent the whole morning straightening up because I had a closing scheduled for 1:00 and I didn't want the house to be a mess. I sat quietly on the couch with Mehitabel on my lap and waited. By 20 after I began to suspect something had gone awry. So I called Steve, the go to guy from the mortgage company I've been working with. He said he'd check and call me back. Sure enough there was a screw up. (The nine hundred and seventieth time, or so it seemed to me. This has been going on since October!) Anyhow he got things going again and finally I got a call from Betty, the notary public. She got lost on her way here but finally got here around 3:00. 

As we were standing there I closed her car door after she had taken all the papers out and locked her keys in her car. Good grief! We called AAA and then got to work on the signing of the papers. I was a bit worried because my friend Sue was going to take me to Silverado to have dinner with Arvin and I wasn't sure we'd finish in time.

Betty and I had to call Steve a couple of times to figure out some of the papers. (Luckily he had given me his personal cell phone number and I was able to reach him. Long story short, we finally finished the paperwork, the AAA guy got the car unlocked and Betty was able to drive home and Sue and I headed to Silverado. We got there just in time for dinner.

We hung out with Arvin for an hour or so after dinner and then headed home. By then I was beat! It was a complicated day. I sincerely hope we did the paperwork right. The only casualty for sure was my original power of attorney that was supposed to come back to me at the closing. It was nowhere to be found. So when Steve called to check on everything I let him know and he is going to see if he can find it for me. Sheesh! What a long and difficult process! If it weren't for Steve I'd never have made it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.