Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just a Junco

I had a very uninspired day with my camera.  Although I visited several spots that should have offered some good photo ops, nothing was speaking to me.  Finally, I called it quits and went to visit MIL for a bit.  She was a little cranky when I arrived but soon enough I had her laughing.  We enjoyed a nice visit before I headed home.

The day was warmer than expected and the temps were nice enough that I spent some time in the yard when I got home.  I managed some shots of the backyard regulars, like this dark-eyed junco, that I liked well enough.  So, while there is nothing really special about this image, it's good enough for today's blip.

The last few days of warm temps have apparently gotten the wildlife all confused because when I was out today, I spotted a little group of painted turtles sunning themselves on a log... in February!  I'm half-expecting to see a bear soon, especially since the temps on Thursday are going to be pushing 70 F.  

Today marks the last day of the 2017 Great Backyard Bird Count and I'm pleased that I was able to tally 46 species this year.  That's not a bad number considering that I stayed in the far northwest corner of NJ.  Had I taken time to travel south to the NJ shore, I'm sure I could have added another 10-15 species easily, but I'm happy with my results.  

Hubs is out of town tonight, so the cats and I are holding the fort down.  Not sure what I'll make for dinner, maybe just a salad.  Not feeling very inspired.  

Thanks for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.