Lacewing (Neuroptera)

I am particularly pleased with this blip as the macro reveals an iridescence I'd not seen with my eyes and so the simple common lacewing is revealed as an insect of beauty and mystery.

As is my way of wanting to provide information with my blips and learning from them I looked up lacewings on the internet. I was somewhat surprised to find not only entries from scientific organisations, but also from Harry Potter Wiki. Who knew such a thing existed?!?!

So according to the Royal Entomological Society, Lacewings are common insects in British gardens and are easy to recognise by their transparent lace-like wings, which are nearly twice as long as the abdomen. Lacewing larvae are voracious consumers of aphids and insect eggs. There are several British lacewing species, which are often divided by colour, into green (14 species) or brown (29 species) forms.

And, according to Harry Potter Wiki,
the use of lacewing flies in the Polyjuice Potion was chosen by J. K. Rowling to represent "an intertwining or binding together of two identities", as suggested by the word "lace" in the name.

So now we know! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.