Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Worth the wait

Sometimes it pays to procrastinate when it comes to posting one's blip.  Today was such a day.  I was about to post a robin that I'd seen while I was out today - the poor thing had been skidding around on some ice in a wetlands area as it searched for berries and perhaps a brave insect or two.  But shortly after I got home, I glanced out to see ... no birds at the feeders.  Hmm.  A quick scan of the yard and I spotted her - a Cooper's Hawk, perched on the cherry tree trying to scare some little birds out into the open.  

She was unsuccessful in her attempts to spook the little birds that were hiding deep in the branches of the tree and eventually took flight and landed for a moment on top of one of my nest boxes before taking off into the woods.  Although I often struggle with identifying raptors in the Accipiter family, this one was easy due to her size - larger than an American Crow.  Males of the species are quite a bit smaller; as are the similar Sharp-shinned Hawks.

The photo isn't particularly good as I took it through the window at a rather awkward angle, but it qualifies for a "Moment" for me.  And it also makes my 23'rd blipped Yardbird of 2017.  My second runner up, and also a bird I've not yet blipped in 2017 is a perky Carolina Wren (technically a better shot, but I'm sticking with the Coop).

I didn't visit MIL today, but Hubs is there now.  Instead, I spent part of the morning working on our books and then most of the afternoon outside enjoying nature.  Saw my first wood ducks of the year, but no photos.  Still, it was nice to see a squadron of them as they took flight.  

More snow in the forecast for tomorrow - somewhere between 2 and 6 inches.  It is supposed to snow pretty much all day, so I expect to blip something with snowflakes tomorrow.  I'll top off the feeders tonight...

Thanks for the comments on my lambs yesterday.  And apologies for being so horribly far behind on commenting - I keep thinking I'll catch up eventually...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.