Birthday Walk

Happy Birthday to me!!!!!
The day got off to a lovely start with pastries, chocolates, tea, cards and flowers in bed. And a voucher for afternoon tea at the Ritz!!!
And a beautiful rendition of Happy Birthday by the Little Misses and Mr K. Every day should start like that!
Miss E was behaving a bit weirdly and when I asked her what was wrong she started crying and said the she wanted to go to school but she had something to tell me.
I thought she'd been expelled!!!
It turned out she'd been sick in the night and was distraught because she didn't want to miss school but the rules are that she has to stay off for 48 hours.
After making her promise to wake us up next time she was poorly in the night I tried to steer her towards going to school saying I thought  it would be OK and if she felt sick I could always go and get her.
But she was distraught saying she'd feel bad sitting there knowing she was breaking the rules.
I couldn't very well tell her to stop being so silly and ignore the rules so I said of course she must stay at home!
She was relieved to be doing the right thing but so upset to be missing school.
We had a morning on the sofa watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2 and eating salted caramel truffles. There are definitely worse ways to spend a morning!
My mum arrived at lunchtime - bringing a beautiful hanging basket for the front of our house - and we set off with Archie and Elsie over the fields to Stowe.
What a beautiful day!!!! 
Miss E insisted on taking her Yuu backpack filled with everything she she might possibly need on our expedition: butterfly net, kite, torch, snakes and ladders, woolly hat, binoculars and water. 
We had such a lovely walk to the woods, a gorgeous clamber through the woods to the swamp and splash through the stream. We fed horses (well my mum and Miss E did. I hate horses because they are deranged psycho killers and so kept a safe distance away) I earnt lots of Brownie points with Miss E by having an apple in my pocket for the horse. It's not just her with her fancy-schmancy bag who comes prepared!!)
We sat outside in the pub garden enjoying the sun, Snakes and Ladders and lunch: Chicken, avocado and brie wrap and chips for me with a pint of bitter shandy, a stilton and chutney baguette and chips for my mum with diet coke, and ham, egg and chips with lemonade for Miss E. Delicious!!!
And, throwing all caution to the wind, I bought three Twirls from behind the bar as we were leaving. To keep us alive on our journey back!!
Miss E was flagging a bit by the time we got back to the car. Lifting her bag into the car for her I could see why - it weighed a TON!! Bless her!
We snuggled down on the sofa again to recover until it was time to go and get Miss L. We may have watched a bit of Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. She clearly hasn't inherited my OCD preference to watch things in the RIGHT BLOODY ORDER!!!!
Papa came round at about 7pm so Mr K and I could head out to the cinema. There was no time to get dinner which I didn't mind because I do like sneaking a 6" Hearty Italian BMT into the cinema!!
We watched Hidden Figures which I loved. It was well written, well acted, interesting, engaging, thought provoking, uplifting and inspiring. 
It couldn't have been more different to the last film I went to see!!
Our box of Lindt chocolates complemented our Subways beautifully. Although I did feel horrendously sick throughout the latter half of the film. I'm not sure if it was over indulgence or whatever Miss E's spreading around.
Mr K had to drive home as I was feeling so nauseous. Shivery, boiling, light headed and generally bluuuughhhh!
Luckily I felt a bit better once we were home and went to bed very happy after a fabulous day.
Birthdays are ace!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.