Hooray. It is that time of year again.

Hooray. It is that time of year again. I stood outside the back door leading to the steps into the garden and gloried in the warmth of the springlike sun. Close by the pussy willow catkins were drawing countless bees and other insects to their offering of pollen. A few tits were also prowling the branches and feeding on the catkins, possibly on the insects. I've added a second image of another bee settled on a catkin whilst eating.

I also think I spotted the first red kite that I have seen in our valley. In fact I think there were two kites so possibly a breeding pair may settle.  They have been approaching our area year by year after their reintroduction into Oxfordshire some years ago. I'd often see them close to the A40 road near Oxford and be astonished by their aerobatic skills. I must try to get a good picture of them soon.

I'm hoping this view might qualify for the Flower Friday 24 challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.