Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

"You forgot what? Again?"

That was the conversation going on in my head when I tried to release the shutter on the camera this afternoon. No SD card and no spare with me. The spare battery was no help. Mild irritation to say the least.

It was a quiet morning. I did a quick food shop in Hexham. After all these years, shopping on Sunday still feels wrong to me.

After an early lunch, I took Mum out for a run - in the car you understand.  We drove west and called at Vindolanda for my missing lens. I'm not sure it is going to work properly after a night under snow, but we'll see. I'm glad it was found now and not be an archaeologist, some years down the line.

We ventured further west to Gilsland, where we stopped for tea and cake (Mum only, the latter, as I polish my halo) at the House of Meg. Then further west to West Hall, where I walked yesterday, and on to Brampton. We went to St Martin's Church, designed by Philip Webb and with windows by Sir Edward Burne-Jones. The main window is the best, full of colour and activity.

Back at home, I raced into the garden before the sun went down. The plant which reminds me most of the windows is this photinia. It's almost a burning bush of colour and is very happy here. It was recommended to me by a very good friend, when we moved in, so it reminds me of her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.