Mother's Day

The day started with beautiful flowers, pastries, chocolates and heart shaped toast. And some wonderful cards which made me cry!
I had a lovely long bath and then we went over to Winslow to meet my Mum and Dad at The Bell for a Mother's Day feast!!  They do a fabulous carvery - as much beef, gammon or turkey as you can eat, along with giant Yorkshire puddings, roast potatoes, cheesy leek bake, mash, vegetables, amazing gravy and horseradish. 
I piled too much food on my plate miscalculated with the construction of my plate and had a bit of a gravy flood as I walked back to the table. Rookie error!!!
My mum was drinking gin and tonics and the Little Misses were drinking lemonades. All with ice and lemon and looking remarkably identical.
When they got their second rounds Miss L took a gulp, grimaced and exclaimed that her lemonade tasted funny.
Her first taste of gin and tonic at the age of seven!
I'm so relieved she didn't like it, she has such a taste for strong and bitter flavours that I wouldn't have put it past her to think it tasted nice and drink the lot!
After my black cherry roulade I had to be winched back to the car. Then winched to the sofa to eat chocolates.
I did insist on us all going out later in the afternoon to take Archie for a walk. The Little Misses as usual whinged about going out and then whinged about having to come home. Contrary little things that they are!
Homework, baths, Harry Potter and bed for the Little Misses.
Mint tea and Designated Survivor for me and Mr K.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.