Primrose or Primula

(Note: I've back blipped a tiny spider on a tulip for yesterday).

This cheerful Spring bloom pops up almost everywhere in shades of white, yellow, pink and purple. It's leaves and medicinal uses are similar to the cowslip.

I studied the history of medicine as a topic for O' level history and it ignited my interest in flowers and trees, although not sufficiently for me to actually try these old remedies myself!

According to A Modern Herbal by Mrs M Grieve, "in the early days of medicine, the Primrose was considered an important remedy in muscular rheumatism, paralysis and gout. Pliny speaks of it as almost a panacea for these complaints".

Primrose petal tea is reputedly calming; unsurprising given that in modern herbal medicine the root is used as a sedative.

Culpepper too favoured the plant, recommending the leaves as a salve to heal wounds.

I often wonder if some of the old remedies will be revived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.