Exhibition and more .....

Today we went to Edinburgh. We had a dinner invitation at friends and decided to drive over early to stroll a bit through our old stomping grounds.
First stop was Ocean Terminal to see  imindoors'  photography exhibition. 
Fantastic work and beautiful exhibition. So glad we went! 
As evidence,  I used Will's brilliant street shot for a selfie ;)
To all local blippers: Make sure you get there before its over. Really worth the visit.
There was another photography exhibition on the floor below,. Very different. Lawrence Watson - Music Photographer. All on film and some really iconic shots (Bowie, Pulp, Morrissey ...etc)

Next we went to Leithwalk area were we parked the car and continued by foot. Neil bought some new boots at Leith Army Store and I wanted to try an Edinburgh coffee Roaster, that I read about in the Scottish independent coffee guide. So we wandered up Leithwalk, had a look at the former St. James Centre - now a huge building site to get to Fortitude at York Place. We just made it before they were closing and enjoyed a lovely long black. This was my first caffein since 7 days and I immediately got a lovely energy-kick, resulting in my over-excitedly chatting with the staff about their coffees, brewing methods, coffee gadgets etc. Neil finally dragged me away to give them the chance to finish and close the shop ;). I did buy 2 bags of beans though.
After the coffee we walked up  to Princes Street and had a stroll through the gardens. It has been a long time since I walked through Edinburgh. But it was as it was when I lived there - from Easter onwards, the tourists seem to take over the place. But I enjoyed it today in nice weather and kind of being tourist myself.
I even saw a tram!!! Most of the six years I lived there  there was tram works going on. At least 2 times they dug up Leith Walk and you never knew where you could drive the next day! And now it is finally there - but of course not on Leith Walk, as they had done some mistake in the original planning. 
We walked back down to Bellevue. I still like Broughton Street area, where I lived close to. Fiona and Kev moved recently to Bellevue and it is a good place to be. Nicely between Leith and the Old town.
The evening was wonderful. Kevin and Fiona had prepared plenty of good food. Our friends Les and Barbara came too and the 6 of us had a great time. Some with wine, beer and whisky (Neil), others with water and coffee (me).
We left way after 1 am and were finally home at 2:30 am.
It was a really lovely day and I did even take a few photos.

Main Blip : Exhibition Selfie
Extras:
1. Fortitude Coffee Shop, York Place
2. North Bridge and Waverley Station
3. Artisan Roast Broughton Street
4. The iconic Café Royal
5. Princes Street Gardens
6. Stop! St. James Centre - or whats left of it ...
7. Scott's Monument with "foreground"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.