What will you give me for this fine thresher

Who'll start the bidding? I have a bid of $50. Any advance on $50. $55 I have and so on and on it went.
After a session at the wharf with blipmate where my efforts weren't wonderful I walked up to an auction of what some might call junk but others just drooled over. A local farmer has collected old machinery, a lot of horse related wagons, drays, gigs and the gear that goes with it. He has now bought a pub elsewhere so needs to shift some of the stuff here. A lot of it in good order and kept in sheds so not rotting just dusty.
A lot out in the long grass and blackberries but the collectors were enthused. He imported container loads from the USA in the hope of getting a heritage park going but it never eventuated. I mean what would you do with three electric buses from Christchurch? While I rested on the seats in there several people came in and had all sorts of ideas for converting.
This chap used to pull the horse drawn hearse round town, the stage coach in the Santa Parade, the oxen pulled a wooden wheeled cart at the A & P Show. He had a ball but now it needs to go. He's not old about 60 so maybe his wife and kids finally said either we go or it does.
Anyway, hundreds squeezed down the narrow driveway and parked in a paddock and had a nosey at all the stuff. An education.
Great for photographers and I had been before but then I scrambled over shafts and pulleys and drums and chains just to get to the stuff. Today it was out in the open. A few in extras but I haven't looked at them all yet.
I didn't stay once the bidding started as I had a visitor coming who was late but finally did arrive and we have been nattering out the back. Such a super sunny day.
I hope the historical group going to Founders in Nelson had as much fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.