Picking Up The Threads - Julie's Atelier

My daughter and I made picking up my granddaughter's prom threads, from talented needlewoman Julie, a Honda S2000 mini-meet. We had a lovely drive in convoy along the Hertfordshire country lanes in brilliant sunshine. I love swishing past clouds of sheep's parsley. Julie has done a brilliant job of altering the stunning frock and the sparkles she has added lift it to another dimension. 

Julie is in demand as a film extra who can sew. She has been working on a new movie starring Daniel Day-Lewis. She didn't tell us much about it, other than that she has been travelling to a grand house in London and that the make-up made her look ancient.

I've Googled and the working title is The Phantom Thread. It's set in the 50s, about the fashion scene of the time and is the tale of an uncompromising dressmaker to royalty and high society.

Earlier this year some scenes were shot in Lythe, near Whitby. A local photographer snapped the filming, which included a nice old maroon Alvis, a contemporary of our Triumph TR4. I've driven the Yorkshire Dales and Whitby with our car club. I haven't been to the picture-postcard town of Staithes, where filming also took place. A car club mate has photographed the harbour and I read about it at the time. In the late nineteenth century the town had a group of Impressionist inspired artists. Maybe this spawned artistry in the form of dressmaking? I'm not into films but will be interested to see this 35$ million offering.

Julie makes costumes for dance competitors. My blip is of her atelier showing a beautiful tutu and checked trouser outfits for tap dancers.

Today's poem is The God Abandons Antony by CP Cavafy. http://www.poetrybyheart.org.uk/poems/the-god-abandons-antony/

Rather than attempting anaIysis I give you Alexandra Leaving. It's the late, great, Leonard Cohen's version of this poem of sexual longing. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auqyZ2JX7Bs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.