Castlefield

I decided it would be best for my back if I gave gardening at Bramall Park a miss, so I went into Manchester on the train instead - with absolutely no plan of where I was going to go.

I ended up walking along the Rochdale Canal to Castlefield, which is not exactly what one would describe as a picturesque walk, but Castlefield is good for photos.  Why have just one bridge when you can build bridges over bridges over bridges ;-)  Shame that temporary fence is there, but that can't be helped.

After Castlefield I got the tram to Salford Quays and then went to the Imperial War Museum (North).  The War Museum is much more about the impact of war on people than it is about weapons, which for me holds far more interest.

After the War Museum I got the tram back into Manchester, did a bit of shopping and then got the train back home.  It was a nice day.

The extras are the Manchester Hilton towering over the reconstruction of the Roman fort at Castlefield and a shot taken in the War Museum during one of their audio / visual displays where images are protected on all the walls and the sounds of explosions and things are all around you.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.