Port Seton Harbour

Day three walking the John Muir Way. Aberlady to Fisherrow, an easier 12 miles.

Larger

One of the friends I was staying with, M, kindly accompanied me along the first mile, to Longniddry Bents. From there along the coast past caravan parks, no longer active fishing villages, and former industrial sites. It was very sunny further east, but became hazier as I went towards the city and the end. About a mile from the end was the only place that the path wasn't very well marked, and I got chatting to a very nice couple from out of town who had passed me when I was resting earlier on. So we joined the path where we could, and chatted about things for them to see and do in town. A lovely end to the walk.

I'm not sure if it was the sore feet, slightly too much sun, passing through the town where some of my great-grandparents had been fisher folk 100 years before, or a slight sadness that the walk would soon be over, but some navel gazing was done today.

That despite having been to various places along the way many, many times, I'd never walked the whole of the John Muir Way before. That 11 months ago I wondered if I'd be able to walk without looking drunk again, or get back the stamina to work. That if I hadn't got to A&E quickly, and had such great aftercare and support from friends and professionals would I still be here. It's been a strange year, one I'd never have predicted in my wildest dreams. Onwards and upwards.

More photos of day 3. Sponsorship to help others make the best recovery from a stroke.

Days one & two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.