Kinder Downfall

An exceptionally good day on Kinder Scout today. Al and Liz had gone back south but returned tonight so we took the opportunity to walk the Kinder horseshoe up William Clough, across the ridge and down via Oaken Clough, a distance of some 9 miles.

The weather was not promising when we set off, being overcast, but it improved during the day with sunny intervals developing becoming quite warm out of the sharp breeze.

There were quite a few people coming and going. We passed a few carrying heavy rucksacks who had just started the 280 odd mile Pennine Way which begins in Edale. I'll take them 3 weeks or so to cover the distance to the other end. This shot was taken at Kinder Downfall where the River Kinder should tumble over the edge of the Millstone outcrop but today was only trickling.

It must have been 30 years since my first and only visit to Kinder. From what I recall the day was dull and damp and we existed on thick cabbage soup made by my sister-in-law. I had to carry my son, Matthew most of the way down. He must have been 6 or 7 then.

I recall there being lots of bogs but a combination of very dry weather and well laid paths meant there was little water at all, which is unusual. I was surprised how dry and dusty the surface was, it reminded me of parts of Yosemite and the Palm Springs desert with the smoothed rocky outcrops and dry dusty paths.

In the evening I met up with my brother in a local pub and had a very enjoyable and insightful conversation. Looking forward to seeing more of him and his family now he is retired and when his wife retires in August.
Sent from my iPhone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.