"The Gold-Bug" *

I had planned to blip a pretty, blip friendly, lacewing fly until I saw this wonderful beetle. I've photographed longhorn beetles before but not this one. It's a golden-bloomed grey longhorn Agapanthia villosoviridescens. I would imagine that it is freshly emerged as its golden body glitter coverage is perfect. It is a stem borer that breeds in the stems of thistles and other herbaceous plants.

Today's poem is Song by Adrienne Rich. https://www.brookes.ac.uk/poetry-centre/national-poetry-day/adrienne-rich--song/

I spend a lot of time alone and I identify with Liz Robertson's comments printed below the poem in my link. 

*The Gold-Bug is a short story by Edgar Allan Poe. The fictional gold beetle is a cross between a longhorn and a click beetle.      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.