Best Poem Ever!!

A week or so ago Miss E brought home an entry form for a poetry competition. It was to do with imagination.
This morning at about 8am she announced that today was the deadline and said she was going upstairs to write her poem.
This is what she came back down with twenty minutes later.
I love it!
She read it out loud to me and I welled up.
I love the language, the structure, the repetition, the sweet world she's imagining.

I'm writing this three days later on the day we woke up to the news of the horrific bomb attack in Manchester and I'm crying as I type. For the children and young people who've died; for their parents and friends; for the other victims.
For Miss E and Miss L and the terrifying knowledge that I can't keep them safe. 
And they still live in a world of dolphins and fairies and music and mermaids.

After picking up the Little Misses I left them with Mr K who came home early and headed up the M1 to Leeds. For a Friday night it was a surprisingly quick journey and I was here by 8.30pm.
So good to see Mrs G!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.