Scones are so Passé

I dedicate this blip to blipper Snowy in New Zealand who knows me for the cheapskate I am. What she probably doesn't realise is how much money I had to spend in John Lewis to qualify for this free cake and coffee voucher.

However what elevates my meanness to new heights is that the free cake and coffee was shared between me and His Lordship. I, who only really drinks coffee on sufferance, had a free cup of hot water and a forkful of the poppyseed cake.
Let no one dare mention the word 'scone'. It is such a 'passé' word in the Dower House at the moment.

We sat for the freeby up top in the new John Lewis restaurant overlooking the destruction of the St James Centre. It was fascinating to see the space once occupied by the car park and offices opening up. It would have been more fascinating had we espied just one workman actually working on site. Nothing and no one stirred.

John Lewis itself is a work in progress as they reorganise departments because of the closure of the St James Centre entrance. It is a voyage of discovery as one climbs the floors and the expedition becomes a treasure hunt to find anything particular.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.