It just caught my eye.

I must have thrown it quite gently.
A few years ago, we fancied, and bought a Stipa Gigantea.
"S. gigantea is a robust tufted evergreen grass to 2m, with arching linear green leaves and large panicles of oat-like, long-awned purplish flowers which ripen to gold."
NOT for us it didn't, though it may well be because of its location atop "The Heap" down which the "Waterfalls" make their way down to the pond. 'Tis a wee bit dry/well drained up there.
Sitting at the computer, I can turn, look out and see it has in the order of a dozen healthy looking fronds, but only this one in excess of 1m I'd guess.


Considering its common name (which I didn't know) is "Golden Oat" it is fairly Gigantea; thought it doesn't seem to be an Oat ...
"The oat (Avena sativa), sometimes called the common oat, ...."
It does, however qualify a lot more than this Gigantea.
;¬)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.