Zinnias

The bloom I blipped on May 30th has finally opened, and has turned out to be a pretty, soft orange color. The plant sure wilts quickly though when it's hot, so I have to keep watering it every day! I prefer plants that aren't so needy, so hopefully I'll remember that next year!! :))
The weather is beautiful today, and I spent part of the morning taking a walk with my granddaughter, who will be 2 in Sept.....the things that catch the eye of a child always fascinate me, and it cracked me up that each time she'd spy something interesting she'd have to pick it up, then she'd point to the ground and say "sit down please" to me as SHE sat down. So down I sat--at least 8 times--on the edge of the sidewalk as she'd examine everything from leaves to flowers to branches to pine cones to mulch to ants!  We finally managed to make it around the corner where she spied the tree in the field. So of course we had to make our way over to it, stopping to sit & look at a dandelion, then another stop for some kind of flowering vine. Finally made it to the tree--which got a hug and a kiss--then had to redirect her down the next block, where we passed 4 dogs (2 of which were actually plaster figures of wolves), much to her excitement! Halfway down the block she laid down on the sidewalk & didn't want to move--too tired from all our adventures I'm thinking--so I picked her up and carried her for half a block when she loudly declared "WALK", so I put her back down and let her walk the rest of the way home. When I carried her inside the house, she wrapped her arms around my neck and puckered up for a kiss, so I'm thinking she had as much fun as I did!! :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.