Best Dog Ever!!!

Today I actually lived out one of my nightmares!!
The one where I go to my A-Level history exam but haven't been to History all year. A fact which I only realise as I'm about to go in.
Tonight was the night of Archie's exam for the Kennel Club Bronze Good Citizen Award.
I only found out about it on Tuesday and wasn't convinced that Archie was ready but thought we may as well try and see what happens.
Mr K got home with seconds to spare and I grabbed Archie's lead, a couple of poo bags and off we went.
Then I remembered that I needed a brush to groom him with, realised we didn't have one so grabbed a little one of Miss E's!!
Then I remembered I needed to pay for the exam so I raided the piggy banks and managed to scrape together £8 in 50 and 20ps!!! 
Not the best start!
When I got there I found all the other people taking the exam discussing the questions they'd been revising (I'm sorry, what???????) and all the practice they'd been doing. 
Oh my God.
And then the best bit of all.  No treats or rewards allowed during the exam.
Archie still gets loads of treats during lessons and I didn't hold out much hope of getting him to do much without them.
I wanted to curl up in a tiny ball and hope no-one would notice we were there!!!
We started off with an exercise where you walk up to another owner and their dog, get the dogs to sit quietly and chat to the person for thirty seconds before going back to the starting point.
Well Archie and the other dog were having none of it! Jumping up at each other, jumping up at us!!!
Luckily the examiner let us try again with different partners and they were far better behaved.
Without the treats I could hardly even get him to sit so there was lots of hissing under my breath but he mostly did brilliantly.
Halfway through we had to go up to the examiner in the corner of the barn to answer three questions, demonstrate that we could groom our dog and examine his teeth, ears and nuts bits, and have their chips checked.
The questions were easy, Miss E's hairbrush thankfully went through his curly mop, he doesn't mind being examined and his chip is registered to us. Woohoo!!
Lastly we had to get them to stay where they were as we stepped a few feet away for one minute. Archie has always done well for Miss E but with me generally gets up irritatingly at about fifty seconds. Tonight he managed the full minute. Yay!!!!
And he passed!!!!!!
I was so proud of him and he rocked his rosette!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.