Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Astratigos Astro

I've been meaning to do an 'astro' photo whilst in Crete but having friends visit and being sociable meant it has been put on the back burner. With only a few days left of our trip, it meant I needed to put myself into gear! So nearing midnight I headed out in the car; Mrs BB declined to come and was asleep when left. Indeed, it was not an ideal night for star photography as the moon was still bright but it was a case of now or never.

The next village to ours is called Astratigos which struck a chord with me to get an 'astro' photo due to the name. I've caught the Milky Way and moon in the same photo, looking over Kolymbari and the sea. The Milky way was visible by eye but grabbing it in the same frame as the moon was always going to be difficult - and a rare photo!

The extra is of Ravdoucha church that I Blipped a few days ago that hit the popular pages. Here it is again after sunset - covered in stars!

I like both the photo's but capturing the waning gibbous moon in the same photo as the Milky Way galaxy doesn't happen too often so I've chosen it as my main photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.